BROKENSTAR

My child, I know you're not a child.
But I still see you running wild Between those flowering trees.
Your sparkling dreams, 
your silver laugh
 your wishes to the stars above are just my memories.

 And in your eyes the ocean
 And in your eyes the sea
The waters frozen over
 with your longing to be free. 

Yesterday you'd awoken To a world incredibly old.
 This is the age you are broken
 Or turned into gold.

 You had to kill this child, I know.
 To break the arrows and the bow
 To shed your skin and change. 
The trees are flowering no more
 There's blood upon the tiles floor 
This place is dark and strange.
 I see you standing in the storm
 Holding the curse of youth
 Each of you with your story 
Each of you with your truth.
 Some words will never be spoken 
Some stories will never be told.

 This is the age you are broken
 Or turned into gold.
 I didn't say the world was good.
 I hoped by now you understood
 Why I could never lie.
 I didn't promise you a thing.
 Don't ask my wintervoice for spring
Just spread your wings and fly. 
Though in the hidden garden Down by the green green lane

 The plant of love grows
 next to The tree of hate and pain.
 So take my tears as a token.
 They'll keep you warm in the cold.
 This is the age you are broken
 Or turned into gold. 

You've lived too long among us To leave without a trace
 You've lived too short to understand
 A thing about this place.
 Some of you just sit there smoking 
And some are already sold.
 This is the age you are broken Or turned into gold.
 This is the age you are broken or turned into gold.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar